The Crown Season 5 Casts Elizabeth Debicki

Season 4 of The Crown will take on much of former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher’s time in office, which spanned the entirety of the 1980s. Season 3’s coverage stopped around 1977, meaning Diana’s plotline in the fourth season will likely include her marriage to Charles in 1981 and the births of William and Harry in 1982 and 1984, respectively.

Peter Morgan, the main scriptwriter for the show, shared that seasons 5 and 6 will explore events up to the beginning of the 21st century. The decision to extend the show to six seasons instead of the previously planned five was to explore the storylines more deeply. With a reign as long and iconic as Queen Elizabeth II’s, there’s obviously a lot of ground to cover.

NEWS:The Crown‘s official account tweeted that Debicki will continue Diana’s storyline in season 5. The announcement included a quote from Debicki sharing her admiration for the late princess, which can be read below:

Following in the footsteps of seasons 1 and 2, which featured the same award-winning cast of Claire Foy, Matt Smith, and Vanessa Kirby as the Queen, Prince Philip, and Princess Margaret, respectively, the fourth season will feature the same actors as the third. Olivia Coleman replaced Foy, while Tobias Menzies became Philip, and Helena Bonham Carter took over for Margaret.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.