DCU Movie News

Warner Bros. Pushing Wonder Woman 1984 For 14 Academy Awards Categories

The awards season may look different this year, but this comes as standard practice for the studios behind the year’s biggest blockbuster movies, like Warner Bros. and Wonder Woman 1984.

Warner Bros. Studios posted a “For Your Consideration” page for Wonder Woman 1984 in preparation for the 2021 awards season on their website. The studio is putting the movie into contention for 15 different categories, including in acting, production, and best picture, 14 of which are Academy Award-specific groups:
Best Picture – Charles Roven, Deborah Snyder, Zack Snyder, Patty Jenkins, Gal Gadot Stephen Jones
Best Director – Patty Jenkins
Best Adapted Screenplay – Screenplay by Patty Jenkins, Geoff Johns & Dave Callaham; Story by Patty Jenkins & Geoff Johns
Best Actress – Gal Gadot
Best Supporting Actress
Kristen Wiig
Robin Wright
Connie Nielsen
Best Supporting Actor
Chris Pine
Pedro Pascal
Best Ensemble Cast – Gal Gadot, Chris Pine, Kristen Wiig, Pedro Pascal, Robin Wright, Connie Nielsen
Best Cinematography – Matthew Jensen
Best Film Editing – Richard Pearson
Best Production Design – Production Designer: Aline Bonetto; Set Decorator: Anna Lynch-Robinson
Best Costume Design – Lindy Hemming
Best Makeup and Hairstyling – Makeup & Hair Designer: Jan Sewell; Prosthetic Designer: Mark Coulier; Makeup Artist to Gal Gadot: Sarah Brock
Best Sound

It remains to be seen how successful Wonder Woman 1984 will be against its competitors, especially considering these kinds of awards shows notoriously don’t favor superhero movies (2019’s Joker notwithstanding). As of 2020, nine superhero movies have won Academy Awards, the most coming from 2018’s Black Panther which earned six nominations and three wins overall.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.